Homemade Yogurt. It’s Easier Than You Think!

I’ve been making my own yogurt since the dark ages. It’s an easy process and doesn’t require a special “yogurt maker.” I have experimented with a number of “yogurt makers” for one reason or another and have always returned to the original format I learned from a traditional maker of yogurt and now share with you.

I’ve captured each step of the process in platinum black and white photos. I felt the look was appropriate for the age of this recipe.

I make a gallon of yogurt at a time. You can make smaller batches by reducing the ingredients equally. The time it takes to turn into yogurt will remain the same.

Materials needed are:

  • A double boiler pan (I use a large steamer/soup stock pan and a smaller stock pan set inside it)
  • Cooking thermometer
  • Assorted canning jars
  • Whisk
  • Ladle
  • Wide mouth funnel for canning

Ingredients needed are:

SONY DSC

  • Gallon of milk (I use non-fat. I find it sets firmer)
  • One cup of real organic yogurt (Once you get the process started you can use your own. Occasionally, you’ll need to “refresh” your batch by adding some store bought organic yogurt. Again, I use non-fat.)

The process is:

  1. Fill up the steamer pan with enough water that it will go half way up the side of the smaller pan when it is set in side it.SONY DSC
  2. Sit the steamer on the stove top and place the smaller pan in the water bath.SONY DSC
  3. Add the milk.SONY DSC
  4. Heat using a medium heat setting on the range.SONY DSC
  5. Place the lid on the pan holding the milk.SONY DSC
  6. Occasionally check the temperature and whisk the milk.SONY DSC
  7. When the temperature reaches 185 degrees Fahrenheit, cover and remove from heat.SONY DSC
  8. Immediately place inner pan with milk in an ice bath.SONY DSC
  9. Remove lid and whisk occasionally until the temperature drops between 118 to 110 degrees Fahrenheit.SONY DSC
  10. Remove from ice bath and whisk in yogurt starter. It should be completely blended into the milk.SONY DSC
  11. Ladle mixture into canning jars (sizes of your choice).SONY DSC
  12. Place lids and rings on jars.SONY DSC
  13. Empty the hot water out of the larger steamer pot and remove the steamer stand and place the filled canning jars in the pan.SONY DSC
  14. Place the lid on the pan.SONY DSC
  15. Wrap the pan in a fluffy towel or blanket for insulation and leave it alone on your kitchen counter for 6 to eight hours. SONY DSC
  16. Check to see if the yogurt has set (around 6 hours) by tilting one of the jars to the side slightly. If it is firm, it is set.SONY DSC

Our indoor temperature hovers around 76 degrees Fahrenheit and 50 percent humidity. I’d suggest wrapping in a nice and thick blanket if your indoor temperature runs a lot cooler.

Q: Why did I choose to share the yogurt recipe with you first?

A: It’s a beginning and it is used for other recipes that will follow, such as  strained Greek yogurt and Yo-cheese.

It’s your turn to make some yogurt. Go ahead, it’s pretty easy!

Share with me your yogurt making stories. Successes or failures. Past experiences or how it went when you followed my process. Can’t wait to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt. It’s Easier Than You Think!

  1. Reblogged this on Arrivederci, Amanda! and commented:
    My Dad, Cook Extraordinaire, (I’ even missing his cooking while traveling THE MED on a SIX-STAR cruise ship!) has just started a foodie blog! Very exciting! This is his first post. Follow him for the ultimate in recipes and food photojournalism (he’s also a photographer with a real camera, not a shitty iPhone camera like me, so his photos are much better)!

    – Amanda

    Like

  2. my first batch of Greek yogurt is straining right now! I “cheated” and am using an actual yogurt maker (which only keeps the yogurt at the right temp after I have heated/cooled the milk), and I’m straining it for that extra rich consistency. I love your tutorial though! I would certainly prefer to make a full gallon at a time! TFS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

